finding quiet

Being a little short on time, I brought my Bible to breakfast today so that I could simultaneously eat and read. I went to my favourite room in the back – the ‘secret’ one that no one really goes to – so that I could find some quiet. About halfway through my meal, and halfway through the chapter of Proverbs I was reading, a bunch of people filtered in, bringing with them the chatter from outside. I kept trying to read for awhile, but knew that it was futile. After finishing my bagel, I got up and left.

We are all capable of finding the quiet spaces we need. It made perfect sense today. Why doesn’t it always?

Leave a Reply

