grumpy days

Dear God,

I don’t know or understand why I’m so upset every morning or why it’s so hard to get out of bed or why I want to give up so easily nowadays, but I do know that You are God. Help me, God. Help me to honour You with my words, thoughts and deeds. Help me to overcome the grumpiness with Your joy. Lord Jesus, it’s so hard, but lend me Your smile, Lord, when I don’t have the strength to wear mine… God, help me to rejoice in You…Always.

Amen.

Nothin’ like kids songs to help you remember the kind of faith that’s needed in times like this. Not any kind of huge, profound faith, at least not like most of us understand… Just simple faith. Small as a mustard seed. Just gotta singggg it out sometimes… There is such great reluctance and inertia to overcome sometimes when all I wanna do is stay in this grumpy mood. But God’s not gonna just pull me out of the ditch if I refuse to even stand up. And the strength to stand has already been given. It’s just about choosing to make use of it. Funny how difficult that can be – it’s really just wanting to wallow in self-pity. Forgive me, Lord… I was made for more.

It’s a happy day, and I thank God for the weather

It’s a happy day, livin’ it for my Lord

It’s a happy day, and things are gonna get better

Livin’ each day by the promises in God’s Word

this is more like me today:

It’s a grumpy day, and I can’t stand the weather

It’s a grumpy day, livin’ it for myself

It’s a grumpy day, and things aren’t gonna get better

Livin’ each day with my Bible up on my shelf

Some verses for this grumpy morning:

“You will keep in perfect peace him whose mind is steadfast, because he trusts in You.” – Isaiah 26:3

“My Presence will go with you, and I will give you rest.” – Exodus 33:14

“For the eyes of the Lord range throughout the earth to strengthen those whose hearts are fully committed to Him.” – 2 Chronicles 16:9

“Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” – Matthew 6:34

“Cast your cares on the Lord and He will sustain you; He will never let the righteous fall.” – Psalm 55:22

“Why are you downcast, O my soul? Why so disturbed within me? Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise Him, my Saviour and my God.” – Psalm 42:5-6

“For you did not receive a spirit that makes you a slave again to fear, but you received the Spirit of sonship. And by him we cry, “Abba Father”. The Spirit himself testifies with our spirit that we are God’s children.” – Romans 8:15-16

“You are my hiding place; you will protect me from trouble and surround me with songs of deliverance.” – Psalm 32:7

I’m pulling out my Psalty songs. I really have to look for the CD when I get home.

We’d like to think that we can handle problems on our own

We buckle down, apply the steam, work our hands down to the bone

But when we’ve gone around in circles and there’s no place left to turn

The Lord reminds us quietly, “There’s a lesson to be learned”

It’s not by might, nor by power, but by My Spirit.

It’s not by might, nor by power, sayeth the Lord.

We try and try in our own strength to make things come out right

We think and plan and orgainze and try with all our might

But when we’ve finally reached the bottom, the end of all our rope

The Lord reminds us, once again, In Me you’ll find your hope

It’s not by might, nor by power, but by My Spirit.

It’s not by might, nor by power, sayeth the Lord.

‘Not by might nor by power, but by my Spirit,’ says the LORD Almighty. Zechariah 4:6

Amen.

Leave a Reply

