the joy of obedience

“Do not fret because of evil men
or be envious of those who do wrong;
for like the grass they will soon wither,
like green plants they will soon die away.” – Psalm 37:1-2

This always seemed obvious, and I guess it is, but I understand better now what it’s like to ‘envy those who do wrong’, to wish I had no conscience, no need/obligation to do right.. Lord, let it not be an obligation but a joy to obey You.. Give me the faith to see and believe that what I have in You is so much greater than any immediate pleasures I can gain now through wrongdoing.. I love You, Lord Jesus.

in Your mighty name I pray and ask this,
Amen.

Leave a Reply

