and the best costume award goes to…Mr. Lies

One thing I’ve learnt in Psych: your mental states and emotions do affect your performance. Priming. If you’re thinking that you suck at something, chances are, you will.

Unfortunately, I seem to be very susceptible to this.

Starting work as a writing consultant this term completely freaked me out. Battling thoughts like: “They made a mistake choosing me.” and “I don’t even know how to write my own papers!!!” and “I’m not good at this sort of thing! I’m only good at copy editing, which exactly what I’m not supposed to do on this job!” and “They’re gonna see that I’m a fraud!!” I say battling, but I wasn’t really sure which side I was on. This week’s consultations haven’t been great, at least in my opinion. I feel like I’ve been completely useless, and I can only hope that I haven’t harmed anybody’s papers…

The point is, though, I think these thoughts have affected my own writing and my own work. Believing that I am incapable has made me incapable. It’s time for that to stop, and the only solution is Jesus.

Lies, lies… So cunning and sly… Worming their way into our brains… The real clincher, though, is that we willingly welcome them. We embrace them with open arms. So well-disguised are they that we throw open the door and invite them in for tea.

The lies I’ve believed over the years… I will never be able to name them all. I will probably never be aware of them all. Fortunately, I don’t need to. God’s power works even when I don’t know my enemy’s face. God’s truth is always victorious.

So. Lies, be gone, by the power of Jesus’ name.

Imma write this paper, yo.

More importantly, I’m gonna be all that He made me to be.

Leave a Reply

