fortune cookies

I finished my Ed. Studies paper at approximately 0530hours. Went to bed with my alarm set for 8am, but refused to get up until 10am or so. I am about to start writing another paper, due tomorrow, this one on talking apes. I’m not very happy with my paper, but I can’t really blame anyone or anything but myself…

This term just really hasn’t been the best. It was probably a silly idea to take 3 Social Science classes in a term. I didn’t even realize. Way too much reading. It’s sad because I think I would enjoy each of my current classes if I was taking each of them in different terms, with different classes… There’s just too much of the same stuff now. And too much stuff.

Timetable-wise, this term I have classes that start much later as compared to last year. Last year I tried to schedule most of my classes in the mornings, so I would be done by midday. This year, my earliest class starts at 11am. I’m not sure which works better for me. Last term, I’d routinely sleep at 2 or 3am and then have to wake up for an 8.30am class. This term, I’m sleeping at 12 or 1am, but waking up at 9am. Sometimes I feel like I’m wasting time. Ryan sent me a link to this blog entry on the MIT Admissions page: “50 things“. #6 reads:

If you write your best papers the night before they are due, don’t let people tell you that you “should be more organized” or that you “should plan better.” Different things work for different people. Personally, I worked best under pressure – so I always procrastinated… and always kicked ass (which annoyed my friends to no end). ;-)

I was wide awake last night while writing my paper… Looking back on IB days, I remember being up and writing lots of my papers the night before as well… But I don’t know if that’s what works best for me. I think it also depends on the type of paper. I spent hours every week on my History IA…Hours and hours on Level 7 of the National Library. Gosh. But then world lit, I wrote the night before. Of course, I don’t know how well I did on that. TOK…I don’t really remember. Well, really, I would very much like to write my papers in advance, so that I have time to go over them and revise them. That’s a practice that I have never done in all my schooling in Singapore (unless we’ve been forced to). But I feel like such a hypocrite as a writing consultant now. I’ll keep trying… Hopefully I’ll do better next term.

But anyway. Back to the title of this post. Fortune cookies. I know as Christians we aren’t supposed to believe in them, but there is no reason that God cannot use the very yummy cookies to speak to us, right? Believing in the cookies means that every single fortune we get means something significant for our lives. Believing in God’s ability to speak to us through them means that we take the fortunes we get and hold them up against the light of His word to see if they hold true. Discernment. Case-by-case.

Today I got a fortune that said “You are capable of extremely hard work and dedication”.

That was really encouraging in a funny way (given that it was coming from a 2-pronged piece of fried dough). I was just having a conversation with a friend last night about how I feel as though I’ve lost all discipline and ability to work hard. But I am capable. Of course I am. God is in me.

God is IN me!!!!!!!

Do you know what that means?!?!

To quote a camp theme from a few years ago…

I’VE GOT THE POWER!!

*complete with musical hook (1:14)*

One thought on “fortune cookies

  1. bahahaha i like this!!
    yes “you’ve got the power!” (His power!)
    woop! im very pumped right now because i just finished my last essay of my undergrad career and am finally able to study for exams :D

Leave a Reply

