Tonight

Tonight, I am missing you.

Tonight, I recognize that contact is not always the best thing I can do for you.

Tonight, I acknowledge that distance sometimes does us well.

Tonight, my heart explodes with love, and all I can do is hope that the overflow reaches you.

Tonight, I understand just a little bit of how God must feel, looking down on all of us who are distant from Him.

Tonight, I ask whether it’s okay to make contact; I ask whether it has become safe again.

Tonight, I realize I’m asking the wrong questions.

Tonight, I ask myself whether I long for closeness with you more than I do with God.

Tonight, I ask myself whether I know that God’s love is better than life, better than anything I could ever want.

Tonight, I recognize that before I pursue intimacy with any human, I must be head-over-heels in love with Jesus.

Tonight, I realize that love is security; I am most safe when I am most in love with God.

Tonight, I resolve to fall in love with Him; He is pursuing you, too.

Leave a Reply

