crossing over

I enter into my twenty-first year alone in a cosy hotel room for two. I drove up to Wisconsin yesterday, with my supervisor and a colleague, to present at a conference, which we did this morning. We leave tomorrow evening and return to Carleton towards the end of the day. For most people, this wouldn’t be the way they’d want to spend their birthday. But I’m content.

‘Cos between you and me, I think birthdays are days to remember the One who created you. They’re a time to honour Him, to praise Him and recognize that He’s the only reason that you’re still alive after all the crazy, stupid, reckless things you’ve done. Don’t get me wrong, I love the friends and wishes and greetings and whatever other festivities that might be thrown upon me like confetti in the air… But here in this hotel room, just me and Him, that’s all I need right now.

Me and my Creator. No one around to distract me or pull me away from Him…

Thanks to time differences, birthday wishes have been coming in since noon today (thanks, facebook), and they’ll continue into tomorrow (maybe?)… Time differences extend your birthday like that. It’s kinda nice :) But for this next hour, for this moment, when the second hand makes that final tick and the clock strikes midnight, I’m putting my phone away and closing this laptop, and I’m gonna get on my knees and savor this time with Him.

It’s only right.

It’s time to take stock, too, but I don’t even know where I’d begin. I haven’t been writing much here, and it’s always hard to start again, because I always want to fill the gap but the gap’s become too large. I guess you just keep on going…

A yawn just pushed itself through… Mmm bedtime? I have trouble focusing these days… I’m gonna do this right… God, You’ve got my attention. You deserve this tribute.

So here’s to You, for sustaining me throughout the last 20 years of my life. I wouldn’t be able to live without You.

Cheers, God.

One thought on “crossing over

  1. I’m amazed at how much you’ve grown Debbie! Keep shining for Christ! (: Haha and I think its my first reading your blog.

Leave a Reply

