painful reminders

disclaimer: male readers uncomfortable with mentions of women’s troubles should read no further. haha.

there’s nothing like a bout of terrible cramps to remind you how weak the human body is. it’s true i probably have it worse than most – my darkest hour is necessarily spent in a bathroom stall, my stomach twisting, me writhing in pain and breaking out in cold sweat until i feel like i’m about to pass out.. unable to do anything but cry out in pain… cry out to God to take the pain away. to be honest, those are probably my most desperate cries to God. what else can i do? at that point, painkillers won’t cure it, nor will anything else.

so often, we like to think we’re in control. we like to think we’re tough enough to handle things. or, if we aren’t, we like to think that we can make ourselves tough enough. we aspire to be godlike. but we will never be.

“Therefore, in order to keep me from becoming conceited, I was given a thorn in my flesh, a messenger of Satan, to torment me. Three times I pleaded with the Lord to take it away from me. But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.” – 2 Cor 12:7-9

Leave a Reply

