passions must be lived

I was brought up thinking that what it means to be a good student is to work first, play second. That may be true, but it’s equally important to realize that being a good student is not my only goal.

My homework seems to expand to fill the time that I have. I tend to put other things aside in favour of getting my work done first, but then I never get to those other things. I’ve figured this before, so I probably just need to start putting it into practice, but I think that if I do some of the other things first, I’ll be much happier.

If academics aren’t your passion, they can’t be taking up all your time. I could devote all my time to doing them and maybe get straight As, but ultimately that would be less satisfying than doing mediocrely but devoting time to things that do satisfy me. Because as nice as it is to get As, not all of them are fulfilling.

I think this is one consequence of the ‘advanced’, ‘modern’ culture we live in. There are so many different things vying for your attention, and clear messages on what you should and should not spend time doing. When there were less options, you sort of did your own thing and you were happy doing that. That’s an oversimplification, of course, but I think there is something to be said of this consumerist culture that has developed. We are consuming things that are meant to satisfy us, but more often than not, they don’t really.

What are you passionate about? Are you pursuing it, even at the cost of other things?

Leave a Reply

