doubtful pride

Moses is an interesting character. He heard God at the burning bush, made that crucial choice to turn aside and listen, obviously feared and revered God, and yet he kept doubting himself.

That doesn’t sound too bad, does it? I mean, he’s just a mere human being – why wouldn’t he doubt himself, especially in the presence of God?

But here’s the thing: it’s prideful of us to talk about our weaknesses in the presence and awareness of God. Especially when God is telling us we can do the very thing we say we can’t. I thought this came through really clearly with the dialogue between Moses and God:

But Moses pleaded with the LORD, “O Lord, I’m not very good with words. I never have been, and I’m not now, even though you have spoken to me. I get tongue-tied, and my words get tangled.”
Then the LORD asked Moses, “Who makes a person’s mouth? Who decides whether people speak or do not speak, hear or do not hear, see or do not see? Is it not I, the LORD? (Exodus 4:10-11)

We are not our own. All we have was given to us by God, our Maker. And He still imparts gifts today. If He says it will be, it will be. Who are we to doubt?

We cannot look to ourselves and our strengths and weaknesses, successes and failures as a measure of our abilities. We are made able (read: abilities!) through and by God. It is God who works in us to will and to act according to His good purpose.

A few days after I read those verses, a friend linked me to this. Talk about a word in season.

So what’s the alternative? Take God at His word. Often, He wants to do so much more in and through us than we even dare believe. Ditch that doubt and fuel up that faith. It’s gon’ be great.

Leave a Reply

