note to self (who needs coffee?)

I am tired. I haven’t been sleeping well. I open my eyes each morning more tired than the night before. But so what? You are unchanging, God. You deserve the highest praise. I was made to worship You. So worship You, I will. What is this body, anyway, but a temporary skin? All this shall pass away, but You, Lord, are eternal. My soul will sing Your praises for an eternity to come. I will not be constrained by the afflictions of this world, for this life is but a moment in Your eyes. It is but one night to You. I wait and look eagerly to the morning, where joy will come in full. Let me waste not a moment wallowing in despair and self-pity. I may be weak and frail, but the Spirit of the living God lives within me. He who is strong and mighty to save, who does not grow weary, but restores strength to the weak. He who lifts us up on wings like an eagle and is near to the broken-hearted. His strength is greater than the strength of all the armies in the world, even from the beginning of time. He is timeless. And He lives in me. He who conquered the grave. The same power that triumphed over death is in me. So arise, o my soul. Awake from your stupor. The Lord, the Lord, He is mighty to save. He gives rest to the weary and increases the power of the weak. Arise and walk in His light, for the light has come, and it has overcome the darkness. Arise and sing praise to the One who sits on the throne. You will be exalted among the nations. You will be exalted in my life. Let this life bring You glory. Let this life bring You praise. You raise the dead to life. Though darkness and sorrow lie all around, You break through and Your light shines stronger, overcoming the night. Keep the fire burning, Lord.

Leave a Reply

