Questions and Answers

I am always searching for answers. Explanations. Somehow, I think that if I could only understand why, I would be able to change the what. But if the only answers I’m willing to accept are explanations, I will never find what I’m looking for. I will become trapped in a labyrinth with no way out, because the explanations I desire do not exist, and even if they did, they would not be mine to own.

No, instead, I must allow for real answers. The kind that so often present themselves in the form of more questions. But these questions are not asked in despair like the ones I begin with. These questions are filled with hope and with wonder. These questions are asked only in faith. And above all, these questions lead to the One who holds all the answers. The One who is the answer. Because the right question to ask was never why? but Who? Not why did this happen? but who are You in the midst of all that is happening? And then, the answer –

I AM – “The LORD, the LORD, the compassionate and gracious God, slow to anger, abounding in love and faithfulness, maintaining love to thousands, and forgiving wickedness, rebellion and sin…” (Exodus 34:6-7)

And the answer is to know that, in the midst of all our whys, our Who, He is constant, and He is our Hope.

Leave a Reply

