On the End of the World

Today could be your last day on earth.

At least, that’s what some people are saying. The thing is, any day could be your last day. But that’s a topic for another day (assuming I live to see another). Lots of people have posted about this supposed last day, whether talking about the futility of stocking up on food since you can’t eat if you die anyway, quoting Bible verses that would suggest that the end is not today, urging you to think about how to live this last day to the fullest, or about where you will be tomorrow should the world really end today.

Yes, I am about to add to this list. But I want to talk just to those of us who call ourselves disciples of Christ. Those of us who believe we’re going to heaven when we die, when the world ends. I don’t know all of your responses to this apocalypse talk, but should not our response be “Lord, hasten on”?

Among the many apocalypse-related Facebook statuses I scanned through today, one of them caught my eye. It said something to the effect of “Does the world have to end today? I need to finish my movies and tv shows…” I realize this could have been said in jest, but if we’re honest with ourselves, don’t many of us share similar sentiments?

If Jesus were to appear in front of you to take you home right now, how would you feel? Would you rejoice because it’s what your heart has been longing for and because you finally get to be with the One who is your greatest treasure? Or would you kind of be like, “Man, why’d You have to come back so soon? I was kind of enjoying myself here. I mean, I’ve got some great things going for me here, Jesus. Could you maybe give me a few more years? I’m not quite ready to leave yet.”?

Do we believe that an eternity spent with Jesus is better, more enjoyable, more satisfying, more fulfilling than anything that this world could offer us? I’m not just talking about whether we believe God is better than the things we sometimes think are fulfilling but really aren’t, like drugs and drunkenness and things like that that we know aren’t really the best for us. I’m talking about the best experiences you’ve had on this earth. The times you’ve thought, “Wow, I can die happy now” or “Wow, this must be what heaven feels like.”

Do we believe that He is greater than all that?

I’ll be the first to confess that most of the time, I don’t. And when we don’t believe that, we run to other things. We chase after lovers that don’t satisfy. We don’t trust God to meet our pleasure needs. We might trust in Him for the troubles we run into, but we don’t trust Him for pleasure. Oftentimes, we just don’t think He’s that great. He seems a little boring sometimes. But the truth is that He IS greater than all of that.

Psalm 16:11 says “In Your presence is fullness of joy, at Your right hand are pleasures forevermore.

On this supposed last day on earth, and every day, I pray that He would become our greatest treasure, our greatest joy, our greatest attraction. I pray that we will recognize that the earthly things we love are merely shadows of what He wants to give us. I pray we will chase after His heart, His promises, His pleasure, and eagerly await and long for the day when we will see Him face to face.

Oh Lord, haste the day when my faith shall be as sight
The clouds be rolled back as a scroll
The trump shall resound, and the Lord shall descend
Even so, it is well with my soul

Leave a Reply

